Posts Tagged ‘2018’

England’s 23 Man Squad Named for 2018 World Cup

Gareth Southgate has named his squad for the world cup taking place in Russia, England start their Group G campaign against Tunisia on the 18th of June.

Some have said that Southgate is taking a gamble because the team is the third youngest in the history of the tournament, he was quoted saying “I don’t see it as a gamble and I don’t think being free of inhibition is gambling”.

The captaincy has not yet been discussed, the topic will be talked over when the whole team meets on Sunday, Joe Hart did not get called up this time even though he has been the first choice at the past 3 major tournaments. Hart has had a difficult season while he has been on load at West Ham conceding 39 goals over 19 Premier League games.


Southgate has acknowledged that his team has a lot less experience in the tournament compared to favorites France, Germany, Spain and Brazil. He has show that he has faith in a ‘fearless’ England and that it is brave to take players with the limited amount of caps, but we have to give these guys belief!

Eurovision 2018: The first 10 Acts through to the Grand Final.

Another year and another Eurovision has descended upon us, Portugal who were last years winners host this years mix of talented and interesting performers.

Until last night’s first semi-final Israel’s Netta Barzilai was the bookies favorite but now Cyprus’s Eleni Foureira has taken over to be the front runner.

The first 10 countries that were voted through whom will be performing at the Grand Final are as follows:

  • Austria: Nobody but You by Cesár Sampson
  • Estonia: La Forza by Elina Nechayeva
  • Cyprus: Fuego by Eleni Foureira
  • Lithuania: When We’re Old by Ieva Zasimauskaitė
  • Israel: TOY by Netta
  • Czech Republic: Lie to Me by Mikolas Josef
  • Bulgaria: Bones by EQUINOX
  • Albania: Mall by Eugent Bushpepa
  • Finland: Monsters by Saara Aalto
  • Ireland: Together by Ryan O’Shaughnessy

Nine countries — Azerbaijan, Iceland, Belgium, Belarus, F.Y.R. Macedonia, Croatia, Greece, Armenia and Switzerland — didn’t make it through the Semi-Final.

It was indeed an electrifying evening with all acts giving it their best efforts so that they can take home the title and the honor of hosting next year’s competition.